Flashback!

So I was walking around the grocery store looking for the perfect sandwich ingredients when my lovely informed me that we actually only had a single beer left in our fridge

Perfect.

Because I now had the excuse I needed to peruse the acceptable variety at my local Target.
( I say acceptable not because of the fact that it is extremely limited as far as selection goes but also because the beer is not  refrigerated. Who does that?! Allows you to buy beer only to go home and wait a few hours before enjoying an ice cold beverage?!)
Anyways…
Fifteen minutes later of walking back and forth I noticed Saint Arnold’s was promoting their variety 12 pack.

Image

What stood out however was the fact that they were bringing back their Mighty Arrow Pale Ale.
I love it when beers have “revival” periods.
And this one couldn’t have come at a better time what with the sun finally coming out in Texas.

After cooling it down and pouring it in a nice little globe glass (The recommended glassware was on the label.), I sat down to taste this beer outside as my cat sauntered towards the birds.

This beer yells, “SPRING IS HERE!” with its subtle citrus notes.
Light for a pale ale, yet with a crispiness that comes straight from the different hops they use, this beer instantly won me over.
There was the faintest lingering sweet aftertaste that speaks true to the honey malt used in their brewing process.

If the quick little flavor profile hasn’t quite grabbed your attention, maybe the fact that this beer was named in honor of man’s best friend will!
The ‘legend’ has it that Arrow, the Aussie/Border Collie mix dog, patrolled the New Belgium factory for twelve years! 
I was trying to find a little more about the story of Arrow and though I did come up short, I found out that when the brewers were promoting the beer they actually held some contests and donated some funds to the Humane Society of the United States.

So why not take this nice day outside and enjoy it with a good ol’-limited time only- American Pale Ale that was dedicated to our furry companions?

Leave a comment